It is believed by some that the the interpretation of petroglyphs show that prior to European colonization, the Mi'kmaq Nation used a seven point star to represent their seven traditional land districts now known as the Maritimes Provinces. At the time of signing Peace Treaties with the British, the Mi'kmaq Nation added an eigth point to represent relations with the British Crown; thus the creation of the eight point star.

Others believe the eight point star represents the four directions, North, South, East and West, and all those in between. The four colors, Red, Yellow, Black and White represents the four Nations of the world.

Most believe however, that the eight points represents togetherness with all Nations and is a reminder to respect the Creator and one another.

No matter what the belief of some may be, today the eight point star remains symbolic to the Mi'kmaq Nation and its colors of Red, White, Yellow and Black.